Allstate Sugar Bowl to Host College Lacrosse Tourney


Allstate Sugar Bowl to Host College Lacrosse Tourney park

The Allstate Sugar Bowl will welcome eight club varsity college lacrosse teams to City Park this weekend for the fifth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Lacrosse Series. This year's event will be a full tournament format with the first round beginning on Friday at 6 p.m.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse

Admission is $10 per day or a weekend pass is available for $20. All games will be played at Pan American Stadium except for two first-round games which will be played on a City Park field located at the corner of Marconi Drive and Harrison Avenue.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Series Schedule
Friday, March 6

6 p.m.            North Texas vs. Alabama (City Park Field #18)
6 p.m.            South Carolina vs. Houston
8:30 p.m.       LSU vs. Miami
8:30 p.m.       Missouri vs. UL-Lafayette (City Park Field #18)

Saturday, March 7
11 a.m.          Consolation Match
1:30 p.m.       Consolation Match
4 p.m.            South Carolina/Houston winner vs. LSU/Miami winner
6:30 p.m.       Missouri/UL-Lafayette winner vs. North Texas/Alabama winner

Sunday, March 8
9:30 a.m.        Consolation Match
12 p.m.           Consolation Match
2:30 p.m.       Championship Match

Lacrosse is recognized as one of the fastest growing team sports in the United States; the sport has seen youth participation grow over 500 percent since 1999 to nearly 250,000. The Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Series shows that growth as well. The inaugural Allstate Sugar Bowl high school lacrosse event in 2007 had eight teams participating. Since that time, the event has grown to a capacity slate of nearly 60 teams, while adding a second weekend which highlights collegiate club programs. The collegiate event began with two teams in 2011 and now features a full weekend slate of games.