Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Tournament Completes Successful Return

After over two decades, the Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Tournament returned to New Orleans City Park with a very successful three-day event which wrapped up Monday afternoon with a memorable championship match in the 18-year old division as Colton Gromley defeated Mark Militzer in a grueling match that lasted over three hours.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Tournament, sanctioned by the United States Tennis Association, drew top players, 12 to 18 years old, from around the nine states of the Southern Section. The event was played at the City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center. New Orleans City Park ran the tournament with the support of the Louisiana Tennis Association.

The event featured both singles and doubles draws (for boys and girls) with 32 competitors in each bracket for nearly 1,500 competitors taking part in the elite-level tournament. The nine-state Southern region is the largest of the USTA’s 17 sections. The draws in each grouping were limited to the top 32-ranked applicants, ensuring the highest quality competition throughout the brackets.

Full Results

Singles Championship Matches
Boys’ 18: No. 4 Colton Gromley def. No. 3 Mark Militzer, 6-7, 6-1, 7-6
Boys’ 16: No. 2 Wesley Barnett def. No. 3 JJ Tracy, 6-1, 6-1
Boys’ 14: No. 4 Matthew Rowe def. No. 1 Mathis Billman, 6-2, 7-6
Boys’ 12: No. 1 Jaxon Lamb def. No. 4 Mason Landreth, 6-0, 6-2
Girls’ 18: No. 1 Sophia Patel def. Elizabet Verizova, 7-5, 6-1
Girls’ 16: No. 1 AnneMarie Hiser def. No. 5 Paige Duncan, 6-3, 6-3
Girls’ 14: No. 1 Gavriella Smith def. No. 2 Emma Charney, 6-4, 6-4
Girls’ 12: Cherysh Henry def. No. 4 Anne Scott Guglielmo, 6-0, 2-6, 1-0

Doubles Championship Matches
Boys’ 18: No. 1 Fischer/Wilson def. Jordan/McKinney, 8-5
Boys’ 16: No. 1 Barnett/Gonzalez def. No. 3 Babineaux/Smith, 8-2
Boys’ 14: No. 2 Billman/Stearns def. No. 1 Bellwood/Lasanajak, 8-6
Boys’ 12: No. 4 Fontan/Ivey def. Landreth/Reinauer, 8-6
Girls’ 18: No. 3 Mitta/Truluck def. No. 2 Carney/Patel, 8-6
Girls’ 16: No. 1 Collins/Hiser def. Beckman/Flach, 8-3
Girls’ 14: No. 1 Charney/Karcher def. Dermondy/Williams, 8-4
Girls’ 12: No. 1 Hartung/Otis def. Guglielmo/Pierce, 8-6

In addition to awards being presented to the top four finishers in each division, a sportsmanship award was presented to one male and one female. The sportsmanship honorees were Cotter Wilson (Boys’ 18) and Lily LaBiche (Girls’ 16).

Girls’ 14 winner Gavriella Smith was the lone champion from the city of New Orleans.

The Sugar Bowl sponsored a junior tennis tournament from 1948-1993. It evolved into a collegiate and international tourney from 1993 to 2001.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.