Allstate Sugar Bowl Sponsors Successful Awards Banquet


Allstate Sugar Bowl Sponsors Successful Awards Banquet park

The Allstate Sugar Bowl hosted its annual Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Friday, July 23 with 27 individuals and two teams being recognized before a capacity crowd of 375 in the Bienville Club Room at the Louisiana Superdome.

Former NFL and Southern University stars Isiah Robertson and Aeneas Williams were officially inducted into the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame while LSU standouts Susan Jackson (gymnastics) and Louis Coleman (baseball) were recognized as the Corbett Award winners as the top amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana.

The event will be rebroadcast on Cox Channel 4 on at least 10 dates over the upcoming weeks.
Tuesday, July 27 at 3:00 p.m.
Saturday, July 31 at 9:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 01 at 1:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 03 at 3:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 07 at 9:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 08 at 1:30 p.m.

For additional dates and times, please visit the weekly schedule which is listed at

Longtime New Orleans-area high school football coach Eddie Flint was presented with the second annual Eddie Robinson Award, an honor which recognizes an individual who demonstrates the qualities most closely associated with Coach Robinson: outstanding achievement in athletics, academics, sportsmanship and citizenship while maximizing the use of limited resources.

The organization recognized a group of Annual Award Winners that was headed by the Super Bowl Champion New Orleans Saints – the team was recognized as the Outstanding Team for the State while Sean Payton was named the State’s Outstanding Professional Coach and quarterback Drew Brees was tabbed as the top professional athlete for the Greater New Orleans area and for the state of Louisiana. Other annual honorees were LSU baseball coach Paul Mainieri (Outstanding College Coach, Louisiana), Rummel High football coach Jay Roth (Outstanding Prep Coach, Louisiana), Country Day School basketball star Matt Derenbecker (Outstanding Male Amateur Athlete, Greater New Orleans), as well as Chapelle High/Tulane basketball standout Olivia Grayson and Loyola University basketball star Trenese Smith, who shared the award for Outstanding Female Amateur Athlete, Greater New Orleans.

Each of the 12 winners of the organization’s Greater New Orleans Amateur Athlete of the Month award were also presented with plaques honoring their achievements.

Also honored were four Special Award winners – a category established by the organization to recognize outstanding efforts and achievements in the sports arena in Greater New Orleans that don’t necessarily qualify for other awards. This year’s Special Award honorees comprise what is quite possibly the most diverse group of award-winners in history – Academy Award-winning actress Sandra Bullock, former PGA golfer Kelly Gibson, All-American Amateur Baseball champion New Orleans Boosters and legendary press box institution Harold Shelly.

2010 Awards Banquet Photo Gallery

Full release on Annual Award Winners

Full release on Corbett and Robinson Award Winners

Full release on Hall of Famers and Special Award Winners

Sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame was created in 1971 and has honored 201 athletes who were born in New Orleans and achieved prominence in or away from the Greater New Orleans area; or, those non-natives who achieved sports prominence in the Greater New Orleans area in high school, college, professional or amateur sports. Each year’s Hall of Fame class is selected by the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Selection Committee, a volunteer group which has met monthly to pay homage to outstanding achievements in athletics in the Greater New Orleans area for over five decades. In addition to the Hall of Fame, the committee recognizes an Amateur Athlete of the Month for the Greater New Orleans area and selects yearly winners for a variety of major awards.