Allstate Sugar Bowl Hosts Top AAU Basketball Players for Memorial Day

The Allstate Sugar Bowl sponsored the 2016 Primetime Super 60 AAU Basketball Tournament, the fifth year of its sponsorship, over Memorial Day weekend in New Orleans. The event featured 346 boys’ teams, including many of the top-rated AAU teams in the country, from second-grade to eighth-grade and 44 girls’ teams from seventh to 11th grade. Teams played multiple games at 24 locations around the city. The tournament featured young athletes from 16 different states and drew 10,000-12,000 visitors to the city.

The states represented at the tournament were Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas.

Boys Division Winners (346 total teams)
Eight & Under (6 teams): J3 Elite Black (Ga.) def. Oklahoma Finest, 32-23
Nine & Under (25 teams) Gold Bracket: FA Heat (Mich.) def. Below the Rim (Okla.), 40-29
Nine & Under Purple Bracket: Westside Warriors (N.Y.) def. Arkansas Rising Stars, 40-28
Nine & Under Green Bracket: Memphis Kings def. J3 Elite (Ga.), 36-28
10 & Under (33 teams) Gold Bracket: Arkansas Rising Stars def. Nike PRO Skills (Texas), 39-38
10 & Under Purple Bracket: FA Heat (Mich.) def. AAO Flight (Ark.), 42-20
10 & Under Green Bracket: Texas City Elite def. Gwinnett (Ga.) Hawks, 24-19
11 & Under (36 teams) Gold Bracket: J3 Black (Ga.) def. Elfrid Payton Elite (La.), 44-35
11 & Under Purple Bracket: MC Warriors (Ala.) def. Oklahoma Chaos, 42-37
11 & Under Green Bracket: Louisiana Heat def. New Orleans Rising Stars, 40-26
Fifth Grade (13 teams) Gold Bracket: South Florida Knights def. Team Teague
12 & Under (30 teams) Gold Bracket: Nike Pro Skills (Texas) def. ATL Express (Ga.), 50-42
12 & Under Purple Bracket: Texas PRO def. New Orleans Rising Stars, 36-30
12 & Under Green Bracket: DGIB Nation (Texas) def. Louisiana Jaguars, 38-35
Sixth Grade (24 teams) Gold Bracket: Team John Wall Grassroots (N.C.) def. St. Louis Warriors, 28-15
Sixth Grade Purple Bracket: Meachem Elite (Okla.) def. Team Charlotte, 51-50
Sixth Grade Green Bracket: Atlanta Cavs def. Scholar Athletes (Texas), 45-34
13 & Under (31 teams) Gold Bracket: Team Power (Ga.) def. New Orleans Stallions, 41-21
13 & Under Purple Bracket: Triple Threat Raptors (La.) def. D’ville Dreamz (Ga.), 55-46
13 & Under Green Bracket: Team Future (La.) def. All Arkansas Red, 40-33
Seventh Grade (33 teams) Gold Bracket: Birmingham Storm def. Memphis War Eagles, 45-43
Seventh Grade Purple Bracket: Team Dream Purple (Calif.) def. Nike D1 Premier (Texas), 48-34
Seventh Grade Green Bracket: Super Stars Elite (Texas) def. Louisiana Bulls, 43-34
14 & Under (30 teams) Gold Bracket: St. Louis Kings def. Texas PRO, 54-40
14 & Under Purple Bracket: Louisiana Jaguars def. Game Elite (Ga.), 59-47
14 & Under Green Bracket: Acadiana Red Hawks (La.) def. MC Warriors (Ala.), 51-50
Eighth Grade (43 teams) Gold Bracket: Team Penny (Tenn.) def. Texas Tigers, 56-43
Eighth Grade Purple Bracket: Team Superstars (Ark.) def. Florida Elite, 58-39
Eighth Grade Green Bracket: San Antonio Hoops def. Georgia Red Storm, 49-42
15 & Under (42 teams) Gold Bracket: Supreme Court (Texas) def. Texas D1 Austin, 40-30
15 & Under Purple Bracket: Birmingham Blaze def. GTH Elite (Okla.), 47-34
15 & Under Green Bracket: Thibodaux (La.) Express def. Team Mitch (La.), 62-55

Girls Division Winners (44 total teams)
Seventh Grade (6 teams): Katy (Texas) Rebels def. JB Lady Ballers (Ark.), 46-25
Eighth Grade (12 teams) Gold Bracket: San Antonio Outlaws def. Lady Chaos (La.), 44-36
Eighth Grade Purple Bracket: JB Lady Ballers (Ark.) def. IBH (Ala.), 40-27
Ninth Grade (12 teams) Gold Bracket: NOLA Lady Jazz def. Kenner Angels, 41-30
Ninth Grade Purple Division: Louisiana Lady Bulls def. Alaba Beard (La.) Mystic, 27-15
Tenth Grade (5 teams): 6th Man Lady Warriors (La.) def. Louisiana Lady Pumas, 59-44
Eleventh Grade (9 teams): Kenner (La.) Angels def. New Orleans Dominos, 41-36

Full results are available by visiting the Official Website.

The Sugar Bowl, which has a rich history with the sport of basketball dating back to 1936, is scheduled to sponsor three major high school tournaments this year. The roundball schedule began with the sixth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic in January; it continued with the Primetime Super 60 tourney and will wrap up with the 63rd annual New Orleans CYO High School Tournament in November. In addition, the Sugar Bowl Committee was a key part of the Local Organizing Committee for the 2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four and the 2013 NCAA Women’s Final Four this past spring.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.