Allstate Sugar Bowl Hosts Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet


Allstate Sugar Bowl Hosts Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet park

The Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet was held on Saturday evening at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The annual event, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, recognized 27 individuals and three teams, including the Corbett Awards, this year's Hall of Fame class, multiple annual awards, four Special Awards and the Eddie Robinson Award.

Hall of Fame Photo Gallery

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month – the honors enter their 56th year in 2014.

Saturday, August 2, 2014 Honorees
Corbett AwardsOfficial Press Release
Male: Leonard Fournette (Football, St. Augustine High School)
Female: Christina Hamilton (Softball, UL-Lafayette)

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, Class of 2014Official Press Release
Hal Cervini (St. Aloysius HS, Tulane University)
Avery Johnson (St. Augustine HS, Southern University, NBA)
Kerry Kittles (St. Augustine HS, Villanova University, NBA)
Anna Koll (Wiltz Girls Athletic Club)
Lionel Washington (Lutcher HS, Tulane University, NFL)

Eddie Robinson Award
Donnie Russell (Baseball, Edna Karr High School)

Special AwardsOfficial Press Release
Rob Bernardi (Nicholls State Athletic Director)
Paul Hoolahan (Allstate Sugar Bowl CEO)
UL-Lafayette Athletic Department
Mark Slessinger (UNO Men's Basketball Coach)

Annual Award WinnersOfficial Press Release
Outstanding Boys Prep Team, New Orleans: East Jefferson High Football
Outstanding Girls Prep Team, New Orleans: Mount Carmel Basketball
Outstanding Girls Prep Coach, New Orleans: Jose Ferrand (Ben Franklin High Soccer)
Outstanding Boys Prep Coach, New Orleans: Nick Saltaformaggio (East Jefferson Football)
Outstanding Female Amateur, New Orleans: Kalani Brown (Salmen HS Basketball)
Outstanding Male Amateur, New Orleans: Leonard Fournette (St. Augustine High Football)
Outstanding College Coach, Louisiana: Tony Robichaux (UL-Lafayette Baseball)

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month
May 2014: Justin Walker (Track & Field, Northwestern State University)
April 2014: Kade Granier (Baseball, Destrehan High School)
March 2014: Elfrid Payton (Basketball, UL-Lafayette)
February 2014: Paul Klein (Wrestling, Brother Martin High School)
January 2014: Merritt Van Meter (Track & Field, Tulane University)
December 2013: Eugene Wells (Football, East Jefferson High School)
November 2013: Dray Joseph (Football, Southern University)
October 2013: Darrel Williams (Football, John Ehret High School)
September 2013: Donovan Isom (Football, Destrehan High School)
August 2013: Daniel Cabrera (Baseball, Team USA)
July 2013: Elfrid Payton (Basketball, Team USA)
June 2013: Dylan Duvio (Track & Field, John Curtis Christian School)