Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament Tips Off Next Week


Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament Tips Off Next Week park

The Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament will tip off on Wednesday, Dec. 3 with 16 boys' high school teams competing in eight games being played at four different locations. The tournament will include 25 games taking place over four days with the championship being contested at Jesuit High School on Saturday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. This year marks the 55th year of the tournament and the first sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Sixteen boys' high school teams from the New Orleans area will be in action over the four days of the event, including:
Archbishop Rummel High School (Metairie)
Archbishop Shaw High School (Marrero)
Brother Martin High School (New Orleans)
De La Salle High School (New Orleans)
Edna Karr High School (New Orleans)
Ellender Memorial High School (Houma)
Holy Cross School (New Orleans)
Jesuit High School (New Orleans)
McMain High School (New Orleans)
Metairie Park Country Day High School (Metairie)
O. Perry Walker High School (New Orleans)
St. Augustine High School (New Orleans)
St. Charles Catholic High School (LaPlace)
St. Paul's High School (Covington)
St. Stanislaus High School (Bay St. Louis, Miss.)
St. Thomas Aquinas High School (Hammond)

Each evening's games begin at 6:30 p.m., with the second game slated to tip off at 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 3, Schedule:
St. Stanislaus vs. Brother Martin (at Brother Martin), 6:30 p.m.
Ellender vs. Edna Karr (at Brother Martin), 8 p.m.
St. Paul's vs. Jesuit (at Jesuit), 6:30 p.m.
Country Day vs. McMain (at Jesuit), 8 p.m.
St. Thomas Aquinas vs. Rummel (at Rummel), 6:30 p.m.
St. Charles vs. St. Augustine (at Rummel), 8 p.m.
De La Salle vs. O' Perry Walker (at Shaw), 6:30 p.m.
Holy Cross vs. Shaw (at Shaw), 8 p.m.

The losing teams from each site will play at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, followed by the winners at 8 p.m. The semifinals of the winners' bracket will be played on Friday at Jesuit. The Championship game will be played at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday at Jesuit. The losers' bracket will continue its action at De La Salle on Friday and Saturday.