Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball : First Round Results


Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball : First Round Results park

The Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament tipped off on Wednesday with games at three locations in New Orleans. The quarterfinals will be Thursday while the semifinals and finals (Friday and Saturday) will be played at Jesuit.

Defending champion St. Paul's rolled in its first-round contest while last year's runner-up De La Salle also cruised to a win over Shaw. De La Salle was led by sophomore Rodney Munson's 16 points, while seniors Troy Nisby and Dashawn Wright chipped in with 13 and 12 points, respectively.

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys' Basketball Tournament Opening Round, November 30
De La Salle def. Shaw, 73-53
West Jefferson def. Jesuit, 52-44
Brother Martin def. Newman, 60-43
Catholic High def. Holy Cross, 60-52 (OT)
Benjamin Franklin def. John Curtis, 46-33
East St. John def. Rummel, 59-58 (OT)
St. Paul's def. St. Thomas Aquinas, 62-34
Chalmette (first round bye)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys' Basketball Tournament Quarterfinals, December 1
De La Salle vs. West Jefferson, 6 p.m. (Brother Martin)
Chalmette vs. Brother Martin, 7:30 p.m. (Brother Martin)
Catholic vs. Benjamin Franklin, 7:30 p.m. (Holy Cross)
East St. John vs. St. Paul's, 7:30 p.m. (St. Paul's)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys' Basketball Tournament Consolation Games, December 1
Newman vs. Shaw, 4:30 p.m. (Brother Martin)
Jesuit vs. John Curtis, 6 p.m. (St. Paul's)
Holy Cross vs. Rummel, 6 p.m. (Holy Cross)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys' Basketball Tournament Semifinals, December 2
7 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. (Jesuit)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys' Basketball Tournament Championship, December 3
7:30 p.m. (Jesuit)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl took on sponsorship of the New Orleans CYO High School Tournament, which is celebrating its 63rd year of action this year, in 2008. In last year's event, Devonte Allen capped off an MVP performance by knocking down the game-winning shot to lift St. Paul's to an 81-79 victory over De La Salle to lift his school to its first-ever championship.

The Wolves defeated St. Thomas Aquinas, 79-59 in the opening round, then upended East St. John, 77-60 in the quarterfinals. They stopped Chalmette, 72-63, in the semifinals to advance to the championship game.

In addition to Allen being named MVP, St. Paul's collected all-tournament honors for Harrison Prieto and Parker Edwards. De La Salle was represented on the all-tourney team by Stephen Kelly and David Williams. Also earning all-tourney honors were Mitchell Robinson (Chalmette) and Devante Jones (St. Augustine).

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.