Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Watch List Additions


Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Watch List Additions park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 additions to its 2016 Watch List on Wednesday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

Manning Award

Preseason Watch List

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

After announcing 30 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year. While these players have been added to the Watch List, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible to win the honor.

2016 Manning Award Watch List Midseason Additions

 Austin Allen, Arkansas 119-187 63.6 1632 15 5 77.9  NA
 Shane Buechele, Texas 97-155 62.6 1204 11 4 65.4  108 yds, 1 TD
 Jerod Evans, Virginia Tech 76-120 63.3 1045 15 1 74.7  258 yds, 2 TDs
 Deondre Francois, Florida State 116-184 63.0 1557 9 2 81.0  150 yds, 2 TDs
 Ryan Higgins, Louisiana Tech 142-216 65.7 1869 17 2 73.8  NA
 Jalen Hurts, Alabama 97-152 63.8 1242 9 2 72.4  296 yds, 5 TDs
 DeShone Kizer, Notre Dame 104-177 58.5 1621 14 5 66.2  202 yds, 6 TDs
 Mitch Trubisky, North Carolina 146-208 70.2 1769 13 2 83.1  54 yds, 4 TDs
 Davis Webb, California 183-301 60.8 2256 22 7 68.4  NA
 Logan Woodside, Toledo 106-151 70.2 1691 20 3 88.3  NA

The additions to the Watch List come from six different conferences with the ACC leading the way with three quarterbacks. The SEC added two players, while the American, the Big 12, Conference USA, the MAC and the Pac-12 each had one recognized. The newcomers include five juniors, three freshmen and two seniors.

Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

Statistically, the Manning Award has seen a wide-range of quarterbacks. Nine of the Manning Award men threw for over 3,000 yards in their winning campaign, including 4,000-yard seasons from Robert Griffin III, Marcus Mariota, Ryan, Watson and Winston. On the other hand, Watson, Young, Manziel and Newton were all 1,000-yard rushers during their Manning years.

Perhaps most impressive among the statistics of the quarterbacks recognized by the Manning Award is touchdowns scored. Seven of the winners accounted for over 40 touchdowns during their successful seasons – Mariota tallied a Manning Award-best 58 touchdowns during his winning campaign in 2014.

One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Eleven of the 12 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to Watson and McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Leinart, Mariota, Newton, Tebow, Winston and Young) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

Manning Award winners have also factored prominently in the NFL Draft as they all heard their names called on Draft Day (except for Watson, who is just a sophomore). Three honorees were selected No. 1 overall (Newton, Russell and Winston), while four others went No. 2 or No. 3 (Griffin, Mariota, Ryan and Young).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award's yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-six players from 53 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.