Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Watch List Additions


Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Watch List Additions park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 additions to its 2015 Watch List on Wednesday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

Preseason Manning Award Watch List

After announcing 30 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year. While these players have been added to the Watch List, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible to win the honor.

2015-16 Manning Award Midseason Watch List Additions (stats through 10/14/15)

 Name, School
 Cmp-Att  Pct.  Yards  TDs  INT  QBR  Rushing
 Kyle Allen, Texas A&M 89-139 64.0 1,274 13 2 80.3  136 yds, 2 TDs
 Jeff Driskel, Louisiana Tech 136-223 61.0 1,812 11 3 66.0  211 yds, 5 TDs
 Luke Falk, Washington State 196-275 71.3 1,964 15 2 58.4  NA
 Matt Johnson, Bowling Green 190-275 69.1 2,534 19 3 79.1  NA
 Chad Kelly, Ole Miss 121-188 64.4 1,862 14 5 86.1  129 yds, 4 TDs
 Pat Mahomes, Texas Tech 167-257 65.0 2,264 19 5 87.8  NA
 Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma 108-163 66.3 1,593 14 3 71.5  133 yds, 4 TDs
 Seth Russell, Baylor 83-130 63.8 1,527 22 5 80.0  178 yds, 4 TDs
 Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee 158-235 67.2 1,803 16 3 81.3  NA
 Greg Ward, Jr., Houston 100-138 72.5 1,302 8 1 85.5  554 yds, 11 TDs

The additions to the Watch List come from six different conferences with the Big 12 leading the way with three quarterbacks. The SEC and Conference USA both added two players, while the American, the MAC and the Pac-12 each had one recognized. The newcomers include four juniors, three sophomores, two seniors and one freshman.

Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award's yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.