Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Watch List


Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Watch List park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced its preseason Watch List on Thursday. This year's list of quarterbacks was selected in conjunction with the release of ESPN's new Total Quarterback Rating (QBR) – the top 30 returning quarterbacks according to the QBR make up the Watch List. The winner will still be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

Manning Award

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

"This is always an exciting time of year for college football players, coaches and fans," said Archie Manning. "ESPN has come up with an interesting new statistical measure of quarterbacks so we decided to use the QBR to determine our Watch List, but we want to remind everyone that every quarterback in the country remains eligible to win this honor and we're looking forward to seeing how things play out on the field."

Total QBR measures a quarterback's contributions to scoring on each play (passing, rushing, sacks, fumbles, and penalties) accounting for game context (down, distance, yard line, time remaining, and score) and adjusted for opponent strength.  It is based on a 0-100 scale and 50 is average.

"Total QBR uses all of a quarterback's plays and accounts for the context of the game and quality of the defenses faced," said ESPN Stats & Information Sr. Director Jeff Bennett. "We are excited to bring a more complete rating system to the fans to allow for fairer comparisons of quarterbacks who play in different types of systems and face various levels of competition. We're pleased that a national award like the Manning Award has seen the value of our new Total QBR for college."

"College football has needed this for a long time," said ESPN College Football Analyst Brad Edwards. "Finally, we have a way to measure the performance of a dual-threat QB against that of a pure passer. I only wish we could go back in time and use it to see the full impact of guys like Archie Manning, John Elway and Tommie Frazier."

This year's Watch List includes players from all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The Mountain West Conference leads the way with six honorees, while the Southeastern Conference has five quarterbacks on the list and the Pac-12 adds four.

2013-14 Manning Award Watch List (preseason)

 Name, School
 School  Cl.  QBR
 A.J. McCarron  Alabama  Jr.  81.1
 Taylor Kelly  Arizona State  Jr.  65.7
 Joe Southwick  Boise State  Sr.  68.9
 Tajh Boyd  Clemson  Sr.  82.2
 Derek Carr  Fresno State  Sr.  64.1
 Aaron Murray  Georgia  Sr.  78.4
 Terrance Broadway  UL-Lafayette  Jr.  76.9
 Kolton Browning  UL-Monroe  Sr.  68.6
 Teddy Bridgewater  Louisville  Jr.  78.1
 Rakeem Cato  Marshall  Jr.  68.8
 Stephen Morris  Miami (Fla.)  Sr.  59.6
 Logan Kilgore  Middle Tennessee  Sr.  60.3
 Bo Wallace  Ole Miss  Jr.  60.0
 Taylor Martinez  Nebraska  Sr.  70.4
 Cody Fajardo  Nevada  Jr.  75.6
 Bryn Renner  North Carolina  Sr.  63.6
 Jordan Lynch  Northern Illinois  Sr.  74.7
 Kain Colter  Northwestern  Sr.  65.3
 Braxton Miller  Ohio State  Jr.  68.4
 Marcus Mariota  Oregon  So.  87.3
 Sean Mannion  Oregon State  Jr.  62.5
 David Fales  San Jose State  Sr.  78.4
 Connor Shaw  South Carolina  Sr.  64.6
 David Ash  Texas  Jr.  77.2
 Johnny Manziel  Texas A&M  So.  90.5
 Blake Bortles  UCF  Jr.  72.9
 Brett Hundley  UCLA  So.  68.8
 Eric Soza  UTSA  Sr.  62.3
 Chuckie Keeton  Utah State  Jr.  76.4
 Brett Smith  Wyoming  Jr.  74.6

"We have had the opportunity to recognize nine outstanding quarterbacks with the Manning Award," said Paul Hoolahan, Allstate Sugar Bowl CEO. "It is truly a great honor for the Allstate Sugar Bowl to sponsor this award and we wish the best of luck to every quarterback and team in the country for another great year of college football."

Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Wednesday, Nov. 27. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 8.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). Last year's winner was Texas A&M star freshman Johnny Manziel, who will look to become the first repeat winner in the history of the award. Manziel led the nation in QBR last year.

ESPN will release the Total QBR for all quarterbacks over the past nine seasons prior to the start of the 2013 schedule.