Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Finalists


Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Finalists park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced its 10 finalists for this year’s award on Tuesday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a banquet in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates’ bowl performances.

Manning Award Finalists (updated 1/11 to include bowl stats)

 Quarterback  School  Com-Att  Pct.  Yards  TD  INT  Wins
 Jimmy Clausen  Notre Dame  289-of-425  68.0  3722  28  4  6
 Andy Dalton  TCU  199-of-323  61.6  2756  23  8  12
 Max Hall  BYU  275-of-409  67.2  3560  33  14  11
 Case Keenum  Houston  492-of-700  70.3  5671  44  15  10
 Dan LeFevour  Cent. Michigan  318-of-456  69.7  3438  28  7  12
 Ryan Mallett  Arkansas  225-of-403  55.8  3627  30  7  8
 Colt McCoy  Texas  332-of-470  70.6  3521  27  12  13
 Kellen Moore  Boise State  277-of-431  64.3  3536  39  3  14
 Tony Pike  Cincinnati  211-of-338  62.4  2520  29  6  9
 Tim Tebow  Florida  213-of-314  67.8  2895  21  5  13

This year’s finalists are an outstanding class which includes five players from undefeated teams and a combined 102 victories with over 30,000 passing yards and 275 touchdowns. As far as national statistical leaders, eight of the top 12 in touchdown passes, five of the top 10 in passing yardage and 10 of the top 12 in passing efficiency are included on the list.

“It has been another entertaining year to watch great quarterbacks in college football,” Archie Manning said. “There have been outstanding performances by so many different players, but we are very excited with this list of 10 quarterbacks which we think represent the best that college football has to offer. We will be very excited to follow these 10 young men through the bowl season and then decide which one is the best in the nation.”

The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who’s Who list at the quarterback position. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season’s winner was Florida’s Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.