Allstate Sugar Bowl Hosts Top AAU Basketball Players for Memorial Day

Photo by Wally Porter

NEW ORLEANS (May 26, 2019) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl sponsored the Primetime Super 60 AAU Basketball Tournament for the eighth year over Memorial Day weekend in New Orleans. The event featured 185 boys’ teams, including many of the top-rated AAU teams in the country, from second-grade to eighth-grade and 52 girls’ teams from sixth to 11th grade. Teams played multiple games at 24 locations around the city. The tournament featured young athletes from 20 different states and drew 10,000-12,000 visitors to the city.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Basketball

The states represented in the Super 60 tournament are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

Boys Division Winners (185 total teams)
Nine & Under (10 teams): T.R.U. Elite (Ga.) def. New Orleans Hoopz
10 & Under (16 teams) Gold Bracket: LX Elite (Fla.) def. Much Greater Elite (Ohio)
10 & Under Purple Bracket: Gulf Coast Canes (Texas) def. MS Young Stars (Miss.)
11 & Under (21 teams) Gold Bracket: Minnesota Spartans Elite def. TJ Lakers (Md.)
11 & Under Purple Bracket: Louisiana Jaguars def. Alabama Kings
12 & Under (33 teams) Gold Bracket: Gladiators Sports (La.) def. Memphis Phenoms
12 & Under Purple Bracket: Team harden (Texas) def. DB Elite (La.)
12 & Under Green Bracket: TNA Heat (Ala.) def. Thunder Select (Fla.)
Sixth Grade (24 teams) Gold Bracket: SEMO Blazers (Mo.) def. Mike Buchanan Mentality (Ark.)
Sixth Grade Purple Bracket: Sports Academy Garrett Temple (La.) def. Team We On (Texas)
Sixth Grade Green Bracket: bEASTside Elite (Texas) def. Wellington Wolves (Fla.)
13 & Under (12 teams) Gold Bracket: MN Spartans (Minn.) def. Inland Force (Calif.)
13 & Under Purple Bracket: Bulldogs Elite (La.) def. Garrett Temple Elite Black (La.)
Seventh Grade (24 teams) Gold Bracket: Louisiana Elite def. Welt Ballers (La.)
Seventh Grade Purple Bracket: Louisiana Broncos def. Team Fox (Texas)
Seventh Grade Green Bracket: NELA Allstars (La.) def. Mo City Ballers (Texas)
14 & Under (15 teams) Gold Bracket: Texas Takeover def. Fleur De Lis Select (La.)
14 & Under Purple Bracket: DNN Black (Texas) def. TXF Bengals (Texas)
Eighth Grade (21 teams) Gold Bracket: Lakeland (Fla.) Fire def. Louisiana Elite
Eighth Grade Purple Bracket: JSI Elite (Ala.) def. DNN Elite (Texas)
Eighth Grade Green Bracket: Louisiana Bayou Blaze def. Team Dorsey Elite (La.)
15 & Under (9 teams) Gold Bracket: West Tennessee Elite def. Wellington Wolves (Fla.)

Girls Division Winners (52 total teams)
Sixth Grade (6 teams): Louisiana Prodigy Elite def. New Orleans Lady Raiders
Seventh Grade (12 teams) Gold Bracket: Lady Razorbacks Elite (Texas) def. Team Empact Elite (Ga.)
Seventh Grade Purple Bracket: Lake Charles (La.) Lady Fusion) def. Louisiana Broncos
Eighth Grade (9 teams): Team Thad (Tenn.) def. Louisiana Prodigy Elite
Ninth Grade (6 teams): Baton Rouge Lady Tigers def. Lake City (La.) Pride
Tenth Grade (10 teams): Kenner (La.) Angels def. Mississippi Jazz
Eleventh Grade (9 teams): Tri Parish Hurricanes def. Lake City Pride

Full Results

The Sugar Bowl, which has a rich history with the sport of basketball dating back to 1936, is scheduled to sponsor three major high school tournaments this year. The roundball schedule began with the ninth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic in January; it continued with the Primetime Super 60 tourney and will wrap up with the 66th annual New Orleans CYO High School Tournament in late November. In addition, the Sugar Bowl Committee was a key part of the Local Organizing Committee for the 2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four and the 2013 NCAA Women’s Final Four and will be a part of the host committee for the 2020 NCAA Women’s Final Four.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 85-year history. The 85th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2020. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.