25th Anniversary Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Announced


25th Anniversary Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Announced park

Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) announced the 24 college football players and one honorary head coach named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, one of the most coveted off-the-field honors in college football. The Good Works Team® award is celebrating 25 years of recognizing college football players who dedicate their time to bettering the community and the lives of others.

"Allstate has taken great pride in working with the AFCA to recognize student-athletes who go above and beyond to make time for community service, whether they're helping out at a local soup kitchen or going abroad on a mission trip," said Thomas Clarkson, president of the west territory for Allstate Insurance Company and a member of the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. "These young men deserve to be commended for all that they do, and their character and commitment to service is an inspiration for all of us."

The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be invited to New Orleans to participate in a community project before the 2017 Allstate® Sugar Bowl®, where the team will be recognized at halftime. The team will also be featured in the Allstate® Sugar Bowl® New Year's Eve Parade, a Mardi Gras-style parade in the French Quarter of New Orleans.

"It has been an honor for the Allstate® Sugar Bowl® to have the opportunity to host the fine young men from the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® each year," said Paul Hoolahan, CEO of the Allstate Sugar Bowl. "Each year, representatives of the team visit our city and contribute to the youth of the community. We thank Allstate® for making us a part of this tremendous honor."

This year, in recognition of the 25th anniversary, Allstate and the AFCA added three additional spots to the team, including an honorary head coach, bringing the final roster to 25 members. Amidst the rivalry, competitiveness and excitement of college football, the contributions made off the field by players and coaches can often times be overlooked. The players named to the Good Works Team® represent the sport's finest in terms of character and leadership, in addition to maintaining good academic standing. To help announce the landmark year of the Good Works Team®, Allstate and the AFCA have also teamed up with two-time national champion, Heisman Trophy winner and 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® member Tim Tebow.

The following players and head coach have been named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision

Name Class Pos. School Hometown
Deshaun Watson Jr. QB Clemson University Gainesville, Ga.
Derek McCartney Jr. LB University of Colorado-Boulder Westminster, Colo.
DeVon Edwards RSr. DB Duke University Covington, Ga.
Alec Eberle RSo. OL Florida State University Mechanicsville, Va.
Jeb Blazevich Jr. TE University of Georgia Charlotte, N.C.
KeShun Freeman Jr. DL Georgia Institute of Technology LaGrange, Ga.
Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea RSr. DL University of Hawaii Honolulu, O’ahu
Mike Caprara RSr. LB University of Pittsburgh Turtle Creek, Pa.
Caylin Moore Sr. DB TCU Carson, Calif.
Dane Evans RSr. QB University of Tulsa Sanger, Texas
Oren Burks RJr. LB Vanderbilt University Fairfax Station, Va.
Zach Terrell RSr. QB Western Michigan University Fort Wayne, Ind.

NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and NAIA

Name Class Pos. School Hometown
Zach Bernhard RSr. LB Ashland University Ashland, Ohio
Drew Neuville Sr. TE Bethel University (Minn.) Green Bay, Wis.
Dan Gallman Sr. OL Carson-Newman University Naples, Fla.
Nate Casey Sr. LB Davidson College Tega Cay, S.C.
Michael Allen Sr. LB University of the Incarnate Word Garland, Texas
Luke Grooters Sr. LB Morningside College Rock Rapids, Iowa
Carl Jones RSr. OL North Carolina Central University Nashville, Tenn.
Corbin Jountti Jr. RB Northern Arizona University Bakersfield, Calif.
Zach Clark Sr. OL Oklahoma Baptist University Oklahoma City, Okla.
Kaymon Farmer Sr. WR Southeastern Oklahoma State University Pittsburg, Texas
Trent Brodbeck RSr. TE Wayne State University (Mich.) Toledo, Ohio
Brett Kasper Jr. QB University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Two Rivers, Wis.

Honorary Head Coach: Mark Richt, University of Miami

"It is an honor to partner with Allstate in celebrating the 25th anniversary of the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team," Todd Berry, AFCA Executive Director said. "Hundreds of talented and hard-working student-athletes have been honored with this outstanding award, but the 25th anniversary team is special because we get to honor one of our own members, Coach Mark Richt from the University of Miami. His dedication to community service goes hand in hand for why this award was established in 1992. We congratulate him and the 24 student-athletes on this year's team."

Now that the team is announced, fans are encouraged to visit ESPN.com/Allstate to vote for the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain through November 23, 2016. The Team Captain will be honored at the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® was selected from a group of nominees who were submitted by sports information directors across the country. A voting panel of former Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members narrowed the impressive list of 165 players and 10 coaches down to the 25 members of the 2016 team.

The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN) and Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA president and Ashland University head coach Lee Owens; 2001 AFCA president and current athletic director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor; and Thomas Clarkson, president of the west territory for Allstate Insurance Company.