Allstate Sugar Bowl BowlingThe Allstate Sugar Bowl added another sport to its sponsorship portfolio in the fall of 2013 when it added the title sponsorship of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Bowling Invitational. The fourth annual edition of the Tulane-sponsored event (the third sponsored by the Sugar Bowl) is scheduled for October 16-18 at the AMF All-Star Lanes in Kenner, La.

The three-day tournament will feature 16 women's schools, including defending national champion Nebraska as well as seven other nationally-ranked teams - No. 2 Arkansas State, No. 3 Stephen F. Austin, No. 5 Vanderbilt, No. 6 Sam Houston State, No. 21 Prairie View A&M and No. 25 Alabama State, as well as the host Green Wave, ranked No. 19. Vanderbilt (2007) and Sam Houston State (2014) have also won national titles.

Rounding out the field are Alabama A&M, Bethune-Cookman, Florida A&M, Jackson State, Louisiana Tech, North Carolina A&T, Southern and Texas Southern.

Sam Houston State (pictured right) won the 2014 event, while Stephen F. Austin took the title in 2013.

The tournament gets underway Friday at 10 a.m. CT with 5x4 Baker games.

2014: Sam Houston State Earns Title at Sugar Bowl Bowling Invtiational
2013: Stephen F. Austin Wins Allstate Sugar Bowl Bowling Invitational

In the Baker format, starting members of the competing teams will successively and, in regular order, bowl one frame on one lane. Once five frames are completed, the team members will remain on the same lane and complete the starting member order again, with frames six through 10 being completed. This pattern of play will continue until all 10 frames of a game are completed. No changes can be made in the order of players after the start of a game, except for substitutes, although once a bowler has been pulled from the game they are not allowed to return until the next game.

The teams will then square off on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. CT with five team games.

In the five-person team game, starting members of the competing teams will successively and, in regular order, bowl one frame on one lane. Once completed, the team members shall move to the alternate lane of the competition pair. This pattern of play continues until all 10 frames of a game are complete. The same substitution rules as Baker will apply.

The tournament concludes Sunday with a tournament at 8:30 a.m. CT. The tournament, consisting of Best 4-of-7 Baker matches, will determine the champion. The 11 teams will be seeded based on the performance on Friday and Saturday.

The NCAA first sanctioned a women's bowling championship in 2004. The collegiate bowling season is the winter with the championship played in April, featuring teams from Division I, Division II and Division III all competing in the same bracket. Tulane has sponsored a women's bowling team since 2011.

Full Sugar Bowl Bowling News Archives

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo